Quick, melt in your mouth peanut butter fudge

Polar Vortex got you craving sweets? Sooth your sweet tooth with this easy fudge recipe! They taste just like Reese’s Cups!

With the holiday season- and winter break- wrapping up, I’ve found myself with too few workout sessions and too many leftovers! I’ve really been into baking and cooking lately, and experimentation has been a part of the fun.

I whipped up a batch of apple dumplings for Christmas, and whilst searching for a mid-day snack I ran into a lifeless bag of leftover powdered sugar and chocolate chips. I had no choice but to resuscitate them back to life.

As a baking rookie, there is not much I can do without wincing, second-guessing or -typically- injuring myself. In need of something quick and easy- something to take my mind off the below zero temperatures- I came across a fudge recipe on the back of a brown-sugar packet.

“That looks doable- kinda”  Was my first thought.

The recipe was for chocolate fudge; but I was in the mood for something a little more… exotic.

Who am I kidding. I just substituted the chocolate for peanut butter, mainly because I don’t own baking chocolate.

To my surprise, the fudge was amazing! It has a smooth, melt-in-your-mouth texture – exactly like Reese’s cups.

Here’s the recipes I used! Hope you enjoy it! Feel free to add other ingredients and share your recipes!

– Romana

Peanut Butter Chocolate Fudge ( makes 1 8×8 pan)

  • 2 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 3/4 Cup Confectioner’s Sugar
  • 1 Cup Crunchy Peanut Butter
  • 1/2 Cup Salted or Non-Salted Butter
  • 1/2 Cup Milk
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1 1/2 Cup Chocolate Chips

 

Read, Set, Bake!

  1. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat.
  2. Stir in milk and brown sugar. Stir frequently.
  3. Bring to a boil ( large bubbles should begin to form) and boil for 2 minutes. Stirring frequently.
  4. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and peanut butter.
  5. Pour mixture into a large mixing bowl and add confectioner’s sugar.
  6. Beat ( I used an electric mixer) until smooth.
  7.  Pour contents into 8×8 dish.
  8. Chill in refrigerator for  45 min-1 hour.

Chocolate Topping

  1.  Place chocolate chips into a microwave safe bowl.
  2. Microwave in 30-45 intervals until chocolate chips have melted.
  3. Pour and spread onto fudge.
  4. Chill for another 30-45 min.
Leave a Reply

